I know I say this every time, but this post was especially difficult. It’s asking me about my personal experiences and how they correspond to my parents’ at this age. Well…they don’t, really.

You see, my parents grew up in Europe before the suing-over-hot-coffee movement provided an antonym for the logical and intelligent human being. In those days, you could do whatever you wanted in that world. When he was my age, my dad made flying warplane models and powered them with gasoline he got from the local airport. And, well, you get the idea.

Back to the original question. What will I always remember from this point in my life, that my parents also experienced but have forgotten? I’m going to have to tweak this a little and include stuff that my parents didn’t really experience.

First thing that comes to mind is memes. (Okay, I actually borrowed this idea from eatinlunch). Internet memes particularly. They have, almost subconsciously, integrated themselves into everyday life. My parents don’t even know what memes are, and would probably dismiss them as something dumb Americans do even if they did. For me, memes will always be part of my life.

Relationships are another point. I’ve never asked, but I’m sure that my parents met post-high school. Nowadays, you (or is it just me?) go crazy trying to figure out how to somehow tell a girl that you like her in a casual and non-embarassing way. Even if you do establish a friendship, you have to navigate that really long and violently wobbling tightrope that leads to a deeper relationship. And if you screw up, even a tiny little scrape, it’s back to the drawing board. The Titanic showed that. My parents probably forgot all about crushes and the beginning of their relationship and stuff because so much time has passed already. Am I getting too deep here? Anyway, I’ll never forget this everyday internal battle from my high-school years – but hey, I’ll probably be fighting it for a long time anyway.

What else can I include in here? I guess the need to fit in is a very important feeling from my teenage years that I will always remember. Adults have probably forgotten that because they control their own lives and they’re well-established in society in general. Me, I’m still trying to figure out my place in this world and how to fit in and stuff. I don’t really know why, but I’ll remember this feeling for a long time.

Style and clothes is also an issue. Most grown-ups look good in anything (except hobo clothes) but here in generation Y we judge people almost exclusively by their appearance. I’m not rich, so I can’t always afford the popular brands. I can’t really do anything with my hair except let it grow straight. But I’ve learned, from other students’ judging, what is acceptable and what isn’t: if Alex or Corey say something looks nice, for example, return it to the store/regrow it/shave it immediately. I’ll remember the basic rules of style for the rest of my life. And I can only imagine the torture girls have to go through to look good.

And that’s all I can think of off the bat.

I have a feeling that I just BS’d this answer because I read over what I wrote and I can’t really see where I answered the question* :/

